What Is NITI Aayog? Functions, Structure & Wings

Share this:

NITI Aayog| Functions of NITI Aayog, Structure of NITI Aayog, Wings of NITI Aayog

It is replacement of Planning Commission. NITI Stands for National Institution for Transforming India. It was established on January 1st 1915. Empowering and keeping state in front’ by giving them more financial space and responsibilities was the vision. The government aims at ‘transforming the development agenda of India’ with the help of the NITI Aayog and has given a slogan, ‘from planning to NITI’.

NITI Aayog is also known as Government Think Tank.

How NITI Aayog is different from PC?

NITI Aayog is advisory body which give advice regarding welfare of state while planning commission also looked after the execution. There is no concept of five year plans in NITI Aayog. In NITI Aayog States play an important role compared to initial Planning commission.

Functions of NITI Aayog

1) Ensuring Competitive and cooperative spirit of Federalism: enabling states to have active participation in the formulation of national policy, as well achieving time bound targets through the combined authority of the Prime Minister and the Chief Ministers.

2) Decentralised Planning: NITI Aayog aim is to ‘restructure’ the planning process into a ‘bottom-up model’. Empowering states, and guiding them to further empower local governments in developing mechanisms to formulate credible plans at the village level is an important aspect of NITI Aayog.

3) To actively monitor and evaluate the implementation of programmes and initiatives, including the identification of the needed resources so as to strengthen the probability of success and scope of delivery.

4) To undertake other activities as may be necessary in order to further the execution of the national development agenda.

5) To maintain a state-of-the-art Resource Centre, be a repository of research on good governance and best practices in sustainable and equitable development as well as help their dissemination to stake-holders.

Structure of NITI Aayog

(i) Chairman: Prime Minister is chairman of NITI Aayog.
(ii) Governing Council: Chief Ministers of states and Lt. Governor of Union Territories
(iii) Regional Council: The Aayog will be a lean organisation, modelled as a network of expertise, focusing on functionality, flexibility and domain knowledge, with following ‘structure’ and ‘mechnaism.
(iv) Full-time Organisational Framework: In addition to PM as its Chairman it will comprise:
(a) Vice-Chairperson—to be appointed by the PM.
(b) Members: all as full-time.
c) Part-time Members: maximum of 2,
(v) from leading universities, research organisations and other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity.
(d) Part time members will be on rotational basis.
(e) Ex-Officio Members: maximum of 4 members of the Union Council of Ministers to be nominated by the PM.
(f) Chief Executive Officer: to be appointed by the PM for a fixed tenure, in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India. Secretariat: as deemed necessary.

Unemployment in India: Types, Measurement and Causes

Specialized Wings in NITI Aayog

(i) Research Wing: It will develop in-house sectoral expertise as a dedicated think tank of top notch domain experts, specialists and scholars.
(ii) Consultancy Wing: It will provide a market-place of whetted panels of expertise and funding, for Central and state governments to tap into
(iii) Team India Wing: It will comprise representatives from every state and ministry and will serve as a permanent platform for national collaboration. Each representative in this Wing will
(a) Ensure every state/ministry has a continuous voice and stake in the Aayog
(b) Establish a direct communication channel between the state/ministry and the Aayog for all development related matters, as the dedicated liaison interface.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.